Friday, July 29, 2011

Gelatin, The Hidden Meat

If you're a vegetarian and you enjoy the following foods: Gummies of any kind, (some) soft serve ice creams, or marshmallows, I have bad news for you.  Most of those products contain gelatin, and gelatin is most often derived from animals.  There is a glimmer of hope however, more and more companies are starting to use gelatin alternatives such as seaweed.  I've tried seaweed treats and I have to say I'm really impressed.  I'm not sure if it has the same wide range of use as gelatin yet, but for really soft treats it works very well.

Click here to read more about gelatin and gelatin alternatives.


No comments: